Kategorie: All

German Youth Literature Award 2021

German Youth Literature Award 2021

The winners of the German Youth Literature Award have also been announced. This year's winning titles show the child's perspective on and into the world - unbiased and value-neutral - and encourage creative problem solving with autonomous protagonists.

click to enlarge

Marianne Kaurin is one of the winners with her book "Somewhere there is always south", produced by CPI.

CPI Books is more than ready!

CPI Books is more than ready!

Author Antje Rávik Strubel has won the German Book Prize, worth 25,000 euros, for "Blaue Frau," published by S. Fischer. For Strubel's publisher S. Fischer, it is the second win at the German Book Prize. With "Die Mittagsfrau" by Julia Franck, the Holtzbrinck publishing house was already able to secure the prize in 2007.

click to enlarge

Read more...

TimsonsCPI Ltd

TimsonsCPI Ltd

Timsons Engineering Ltd and CPI establish joint venture TimsonsCPI Ltd for the manufacture of Timsons presses

Kettering, September 22, 2021 We are pleased to announce the formation of a joint venture between Timsons Engineering Ltd and CPI UK.

The formation of "Timsons CPI Limited" solidifies our strategic alliance by bringing together decades of experience and expertise in producing some of the world's finest presses and printed books. Building on our long-standing close relationship, Timsons CPI will manufacture new web offset litho presses and related equipment for the global book production sector.

This new company will complement the existing businesses of Timsons Engineering Ltd and CPI Books and help secure their long-term prospects for the benefit of their respective customers.

click to enlarge

The new company's first project is to upgrade an existing T48 Royal single-unit press to a zero-make-ready press to increase CPI UK's Royal printing capacity and support the growth of the UK trade book market.

Read more...

Paper and materials shortage is the post-Corona challenge for the entire book industry

Paper and materials shortage is the post-Corona challenge for the entire book industry

What appeared to be a warning sign in the summer has come to pass more violently than many had believed. Of course, it is difficult to obtain paper; this can be seen in almost every trade magazine and even in the business press in the meantime. However, this is not enough, because there are other challenges: chemicals, plastics, cardboard packaging and, of course, pallets, which in the meantime are almost no longer affordable or available. Once the book has been produced in spite of this, and because of CPI's good networking, the process continues. Logistics capacities are tight, both on the road and at wholesalers and handling warehouses.
It remains to be seen when this situation will "return to normal". Another challenge also occupies us: good personnel. We are looking for reinforcements, especially in production, and we are hearing the same from our partners. So it will remain exciting for quite a while.

No blanket statements and no patent remedies help here. Every day we face the challenge and produce as good as around the clock with the goal to make possible what is possible. Below you will find some press comments, which we will also update in the next few days.

Source: Buchreport; 23.09.2021

Press releases:
Crisis in the engine room
Worrying warning calls
Procurement between supply bottlenecks and cost explosion
Bottleneck management when the cardboard is missing
The unwanted drama of the publishers

Kategorie: Alle

POD-Service in Erfurt ist angelaufen

POD-Service in Erfurt ist angelaufen

Wie Sie vielleicht schon der Presse entnehmen konnten, haben Zeitfracht und CPI die Produktion und Auslieferung von POD-Bestellungen aufgenommen.
Print On Demand im Logistikzentrum schont unsere Umwelt, hält die Backlist lieferbar und ist wirtschaftlich sinnvoll. Soft- und Hardcover bleiben in CPI-Qualität verfügbar für alle, die Klassiker haben wollen und Fachbücher und ganz bestimmte Bücher.

Weiterlesen...

CPI Books steht mehr als parat!

CPI Books steht mehr als parat!

Die Autorin Antje Rávik Strubel hat für „Blaue Frau“, erschienen beim Verlag S. Fischer, den mit 25.000 Euro dotierten Deutschen Buchpreis erhalten. Für Strubels Verlag S. Fischer ist es der zweite Sieg beim Deutschen Buchpreis. Mit „Die Mittagsfrau“ von Julia Franck konnte sich der Holtzbrinck-Verlag den Preis bereits im Jahr 2007 sichern.

zum vergrößern anklicken

Weiterlesen...

TimsonsCPI Ltd

TimsonsCPI Ltd

Timsons Engineering Ltd und CPI gründen Joint Venture TimsonsCPI Ltd für die Herstellung von Timsons-Pressen

Kettering, 22. September 2021 Wir freuen uns, die Gründung eines Gemeinschaftsunternehmens zwischen Timsons Engineering Ltd und CPI UK bekannt zu geben.

Die Gründung von "Timsons CPI Limited" festigt unsere strategische Allianz, indem sie jahrzehntelange Erfahrung und Fachwissen bei der Herstellung einiger der besten Druckmaschinen und gedruckten Bücher der Welt zusammenführt. Aufbauend auf unserer langjährigen engen Beziehung wird Timsons CPI neue Rollenoffset-Lithodruckmaschinen und die dazugehörige Ausrüstung für den weltweiten Buchproduktionssektor herstellen.

Dieses neue Unternehmen wird die bestehenden Geschäftsbereiche von Timsons Engineering Ltd und CPI Books ergänzen und dazu beitragen, ihre langfristigen Perspektiven zum Nutzen ihrer jeweiligen Kunden zu sichern.

zum vergrößern anklicken

Das erste Projekt des neuen Unternehmens ist die Aufrüstung einer bestehenden T48-Royal-Einzelmaschine zu einer Zero-Make-Ready-Maschine, um die Royal-Druckkapazität von CPI UK zu erhöhen und das Wachstum des britischen Fachbuchmarktes zu begleiten.

Weiterlesen...

Papier- und Materialknappheit ist die Post-Corona Herausforderung für die gesamte Buchbranche

Papier- und Materialknappheit ist die Post-Corona Herausforderung für die gesamte Buchbranche

Was sich im Sommer als Warnzeichen bemerkbar machte, ist heftiger eingetreten als viele es geglaubt hatten. Natürlich ist es schwierig, Papier zu bekommen; dies kann man zwischenzeitlich in fast jedem Fachmagazin und sogar der Wirtschaftspresse entnehmen. Damit ist es jedoch nicht genug, denn es kommen weitere Herausforderungen hinzu: Chemikalien, Kunststoffe, Kartonagen und natürlich Paletten, welche zwischenzeitlich fast nicht mehr bezahlbar oder verfügbar sind. Wenn das Buch dann trotzdem und wegen der guten Vernetztheit von CPI gefertigt geworden ist, geht es weiter. Logistikkapazitäten sind eng, sowohl auf der Straße als auch bei den Großhändlern und Umschlagslägern.
Wann sich diese Situation wieder "normalisiert", bleibt abzuwarten. Eine weitere Herausforderung beschäftigt uns ebenfalls: gutes Personal. Speziell in der Produktion suchen wir nach Verstärkung, von unseren Partnern hören wir dies auch. Es wird also noch eine ganze Weile spannend bleiben.

Da helfen keine Pauschalaussagen und auch keine Patentrezepte. Jeden Tag stellen wir uns den Herausforderung und produzieren so gut wie rund um die Uhr mit dem Ziel möglich zu machen, was möglich ist. Nachfolgend finden Sie einige Pressestimmen, die wir auch in den nächsten Tagen aktualisieren werden.

Quellenangabe: Buchreport; 23.09.2021

Pressemitteilungen:
Krise im Maschinenraum
Besorgniserregende Warnrufe
Beschaffung zwischen Lieferengpässen und Kostenexplosion
Engpass Management wenn die Pappe fehlt
Das unerwünschte Drama der Verlage